George Carlin just fucking died.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/24/arts/24carlin.html?_r=1&hp&oref=slogin

I grew up on George Carlin. My father is a massive fan of his, as am I. If you listen to any comedian today, they will list him amongst a small group of comedians (Lenny Bruce, Richard Pryor, etc.) as being the most important influences on comedy. If you listen to his 1972 “Class Clown” album he does a bit called “Muhammad Ali – America The Beautiful”. If I didn’t tell you when it was recorded, you’d think he was talking about the Iraq War. He was talking about Vietnam. I dunno… I am shocked and saddened by this. Here is his famous “7 Words You Can Never Say On Television” Coincidentally, at the beginning you see this was recorded in Phoenix in 1978, the year I was born.

Leave a Reply

