Camera Obscura – French Navy

I heard “French Navy” by Camera Obscura at the Tampa International Airport. Things have gone downhill from there so far. The video is wonderful in depicting a whirlwind romance and for hinting at rough waves ahead, reflecting the line in the chorus, “I wanted to control it, but love, I couldn’t hold it”. I love how Tracyanne Campbell barely sings the word “heart” in the line, “I was criticized for lending out my heart”, as if it hurts to get it out. The band and their videos pretty much look exactly how you’d imagine, don’t they. The whole album, My Maudlin Career is just as great as this song. Full of heartbreak, strings, and reverb.

Leave a Reply

