The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart @ Webster Hall

I saw The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart last night at Webster Hall. I missed the first opening band, Cymbals Eat Guitars, but caught about half of Depreciation Guild. I liked what I heard, but my friend pointed out they use preprogrammed computers instead of a real keyboard player, which I have to agree is a bit lazy. Also, they sound even more like My Bloody Valentine (and Cocteau Twins) than The Pains. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart sound pretty much like they do on record, except their songs in a live setting tend to lose a bit of color. The keyboard parts get drowned out in the guitar feedback, so the songs don’t stand out as much from one to the next. You can hear that in this live youtube clip. But, The Pains were very enthusiastic and happy, clearly overwhelmed by the attention they’ve gotten this past year, and enjoying the hometown show. And, that showed in the songs. All in all, I went home having enjoyed myself. BTW, Asian chick keyboard player, natch.

Leave a Reply

