The Flaming Lips – Embryonic

Embryonic

I wish every Flaming Lips album sounded like Embryonic. If so, I’d love them. I owned Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots and the Fight Test EP, and sold them. I’m not sure how to review this album, other than to say it’s a dense, writhing, psychedelic beast. The Flaming Lips have ditched the symphonic, anthemic, almost cloying bullshit that has caused me to say “meh” to their previous albums. Yes, that includes “Do You Realize??”. I tend towards the dark, and The Flaming Lips have always tended towards the light. Also, I couldn’t help but feel that a lot of why The Flaming Lips started sounding that way was due to Dave Fridmann, member of Mercury Rev, taking production duties starting with Clouds Taste Metallic. I just ended up feeling like The Flaming Lips just sounded a lot like Mercury Rev, who I discovered before The Flaming Lips. I think I’m going to have to go back to their previous albums and try and get over my pro-Mercury Rev prejudice. Thankfully, The Flaming Lips have finally given me Embryonic, which is the darkest album I’ve heard of theirs. It’s wicked and fucked up. It grooves. It just plain rocks. In my mind, it’s their masterpiece.

The Flaming Lips – The Sparrow Looks Up At The Machine (from Embryonic)

The Flaming Lips – A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (from The Soft Bulletin)

Mercury Rev – Tonite It Shows (One of my favorite songs ever.)

Leave a Reply

