Neon Indian and Toro Y Moi

Neon Indian

Were people who are into Neon Indian into groups like Bent and Lemonjelly? If not, they kinda should be. I know “Chillwave” is supposed to be a new kinda genre, but when I listen to Neon Indian, it really just sounds like downtempo and ambient techno to me. Chillwave is like a sub-sub-sub-genre. Some of it definitely reminds me of Daft Punk too. Of course, Neon Indian seems to be intent on sounding lo-fi because he’s going for the hipster indie cred. Chillout music like Bent is too polished, and thus “lame”. I think Psychic Chasms is all right, don’t get me wrong. I like that he does sing over the music, which (other than the lo-fi production) is the element he adds to the template. “Ephemeral Artery” is a track that reminds me of Daft Punk by way of Justice, with that rubbery synth line and the screechy guitar. I honestly don’t have much more to say about Psychic Chasms. Not much on it sticks out to me.

Neon Indian – 6669 (I Don’t Know If You Know)

Bent – Private Road

Daft Punk – Voyager

Toro Y Moi

I think Toro Y Moi is good though. Causers Of This is a pretty album. It’s a nice mixture of progressive house, IDM, and dreampop. It’s interesting that his voice reminds me of Kevin Shields (My Bloody Valentine) at times. Also, if you like Causers Of This you’ll like Flying Lotus, though I don’t think they’re directly similar. Toro Y Moi use that scratchiness that Flying Lotus does on first track, “Blessa”. Also, “Fax Shadow” has cut up vocals that made me think of hiphop influenced electronica like Flying Lotus. The vocals at the end of that song are beautiful, by the way. On “Blessa”, I like the layers of vocal samples and how he plays with the sound, how he randomly warps it. You can imagine the synths on “Minors” being cascades of guitar feedback instead, reminiscent of MBV. “Imprint After”s piano line is totally a house throwback, except slowed down. “Lissoms” has that scratchy sound too, and it’s really a progressive house track. It’s one of the most danceable tracks on the album. “Low Shoulder” is practically a disco track. And “Causers Of This” is practically a 70’s funk track. I guess I just think the Toro Y Moi album is more interesting to me. The songs have less structure to them than the Neon Indian album. I can point to a lot more in each song I like. On “Thanks Vision”, he drops a nice thump in the middle of the track. And like “Blessa”, the vocal samples are gorgeous, as is the string sample underneath it all. What’s funny is that “Talamak” is the song that most reminds me of Neon Indian, and it’s my least favorite song on the album. Maybe it’s just personal preference. Either way, I don’t think “Chillwave” is a new genre. But, I think Toro Y Moi takes a lot of electronic genre elements and does a lot with it.

Toro Y Moi – Minors

Toro Y Moi – Fax Shadow

Flying Lotus – Parisian Goldfish

By the way, Daft Punk have really become a huge influence over the years. It occurs to me that I’ve never discussed them or Justice on my blog before. Justice is easily the biggest example of Daft Punk’s influence. Justice is in the same “lets have rock influence our techno” vein. All Justice did was dirty up the electronics more. And have a children’s chorus on one song. I thought ✟ was a decent album, but it got a lot more repetitive (and at times a bit irritating) than Daft Punk does.

Justice – Let There Be Light

Daft Punk – Rollin’ & Scratchin’

Leave a Reply

