M.I.A. is feeling insecure.

So, as you probably know, M.I.A. shit on Lady Gaga in an interview in NME.

“None of her music’s reflective of how weird she wants to be or thinks she is. She models herself on Grace Jones and Madonna, but the music sounds like 20-year-old Ibiza disco, you know?”

She’s not progressive, but she’s a good mimic. She sounds more like me than I fucking do! That’s a talent and she’s got a great team behind her, but she’s the industry’s last stab at making itself important – saying ‘You need our money behind you, the endorsements, the stadiums’.

The singer-songwriter added: “Respect to her, she’s kept a hundred thousand people working, but my belief is you Do It Yourself.”

Lady Gaga’s kind of the big target right now since she’s been so dominant the past two years. To a degree M.I.A. has a point, in my opinion. Lady Gaga, musically, is not breaking any ground. I trashed The Fame because of how derivative it was. But, on The Fame Monster the songwriting is really good. I’m not sure why M.I.A. is worried or gives a shit though. I’m not sure if their audiences mesh that much. While I like Lady Gaga, M.I.A. is by far the more innovative artist musically. Make fun of Lady Gaga’s outfits all you want, she is innovative when it comes to her fashion. And, Lady Gaga has put in the time, playing in N.Y. bars, clubs and competitions before she was famous. (She also strikes me as being batshit before she was famous too.) If M.I.A. wanted to go after someone, she should have gone after Rihanna for completely ripping her off for the “Rude Boy” video.

Diplo called Rihanna out on it on his Twitter, and even made a Rude Boy / Boyz mashup.

Rihanna – Rude Boy (Diplo Rudeboyz remix)

Die Antwoord has a solid case against Rihanna too.

I’m not surprised M.I.A. doesn’t give a fuck about going after someone on her own label (Interscope). M.I.A. is “authentic” enough. Really, I would love to see M.I.A. and Lady Gaga to a collab together. It would be fucking sick.

One Comment to “M.I.A. is feeling insecure.”

  1. oh look, you blogged about this. It drives me nuts! I love M.I.A., she’s totes authentic, and she’s going after a totally different thing than Gaga. Why hate on her? Anti- female empowerment. Unnecessary.

    That said, I can’t believe the Rihanna thing. I’d never seen that video before. V interesting.

Leave a Reply

